The Des Moines Chapter of the Izaak Walton League

The Des Moines Chapter of the Izaak Walton League

The Des Moines Chapter of the Izaak Walton League

Chapter Seal 2This Page Has Moved – Please Reset Your Bookmark to

About the Izaak Walton League of America

Founded in 1922, the Izaak Walton League is one of the nation’s oldest and most respected conservation organizations. With a powerful grassroots network of more than 250 local chapters nationwide, the League takes a common-sense approach toward protecting our country’s natural heritage and improving outdoor recreation opportunities for all Americans. We invite you to learn about our work and to join us in supporting important conservation initiatives in your community.

Help us protect America’s outdoors. Become a League member today!

Des Moines Chapter House
4343 George Flagg Parkway
Des Moines, Iowa, 50321
(515) 244-3773


You’ll receive an expanded newsletter with more news, stories, and events; Plus chapter updates as they happen!

All Members Special Meeting
Tuesday, September 29, 2020 – 6 p.m.

There will be a Special Meeting Tuesday, September 29 to vote on changes to the By-Laws, review board members and nominations for 2020/2021, and to conclude business from our Annual Meeting on August 4, 2020 due to a lack of a quorum. This has been a project in the works for over a year. These new By-Laws allow the chapter to function in a new environment allowing for electronic communications not thought of in the 70’s when our original By-Laws were written.

A copy of the revised By-Laws has been posted at the chapter house for the last six (6) weeks, copies were available at the August meeting. Click here to review the Revised By-Laws.

All active members will receive a ballot by mail which will allow you to vote on the By-Laws, and review and nominate for the board in absentia via postage paid reply form. You can also submit your ballot prior to the meeting at the club house, or the night of the meeting. Click here for a printable copy of the Ballot Form. See below for a list of Proposed Board members.

Thank you for your support!

Weekly Meetings and Programs

Meetings are held every Tuesday beginning at 6 p.m. Dinner is served until 7 p.m., with programs starting at 7 p.m. There are lots of great programs and delicious meals coming up on Tuesdays at the Chapter House! Check out our Menus and Programs page to find out more!

Proposed Officers 2020/2021
President: Richard “Bo” Galloway
1st VP: Mike O’Deay
2nd VP: Bud Hartley
Secretary: Doug Pooch
Treasurer: Kerry Petersen
Past Pres: Joe Gavin
Honorary President: E.M. (Mel) Hrubetz

Proposed Directors 2020/2021
Christine Curry
Michael Delaney
Brian Gehringer
Robert Jackson Sr.
Mike Simpson

asset.f.logo.lg  Like us on Facebook

Contact Us

4343 George Flagg Parkway, Des Moines, Iowa 50321   ·   Phone 515-244-3773   ·   Email